Well, 6 months ago I decided rap or modern rap (underground AND mainstream) was at a general all time low so I decided to just quit listening to it. I started with the basic essentials (beatles/led zeppelin/cream/the clash/pink floyd/metallica/alice in chains) basically 3-4 of the pioneering bands of the main sub genres. And then, one day I listened to Comfortably Numb or was it Time and it hit; i knew I had to get a guitar. So i got one yay .

I've been playing for 6 months now and I'm at the point in my hobby where if I want to progress I need a rigourous routine. This question has been asked many times before, in various ways (should i practice songs/techniques/buts the best routine/etc.) But I feel too many people ask this and not exactly what they should be practicing. I mean to many people just say do ear training. Or do ****ing speed drills. Or learn some picking/strumming. WTF are these?

Could someone please elaborate like for example break down all the concepts for example:

Chords:
Open
Barre
Forming chords using intervals
Inversions
Arpeggiating Chords
Which chords can be substituted

and now could someone please elaborate on scales/picking/lead techniques (tapping/sweeping/etc)/rhythm (strumming types/picking types wtf is hybrid/economic/i saw someone i think it was hammet he was picking and then used middle and ring to do finger style at the same time O.o)??
Last edited by amd123 at Feb 7, 2009,
UG has lessons on everything you would need to know. you can go to the search bar on the main page, typing in what you wanna learn, and editting the searches to lessons with the drop down arrow next to the search field.

i recommend checking out ZeGuitarist's articles on "The ULTIMATE Guitar Guide". he goes over everything, and breaks it all down for you.

and congrats on the new guitar.
KLH & KGB
11/28/09
Last edited by KGB_INC at Feb 7, 2009,