I'd say that I'm an intermediate guitarist. I spent 4 years learning how to play the acoustic guitar. In the process of this, I learnt all of the basic chords and techniques. As well as this, I learnt how to read basic music. I then went on to learn how to play the electric guitar, which I found a lot more intriguing than learning how to play the acoustic guitar. Was the time spent learning how to the play the acoustic guitar a good learning curve, or was it just a waste of time?
When one sees a lion, one must get into the car.
Last edited by HD 215 at Feb 9, 2009,
There's no difference - the stuff you learned on acoustic is equally applicable to electric guitar.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
that's a ridiculously stupid question.

you're learning the guitar, there's no difference between electric and acoustic when it comes to playing.
Schecter Diamond Series C-1 Elite
Roland Cube 30x
Blueridge BR-143
I didn't mean it like that. I was young, and I had an elderly guitar tutor. I was uneducated, and I felt that I only had the basics avaliable to me. Was it a waste of time going through the basics for 4 years? I'm only asking this because I feel that my current guitar tutor gives me a lot more options and a better quality of tutoring when it comes to learning how to play the electric guitar, compared to my former guitar tutor when it came to learning how to play the acoustic guitar.
1 year or 10 years, however long it takes for you to learn is how long it takes to learn...