You're going to Portland in the fall

But then again, will I regret these things I don't do
I could risk friendship, for being in love with you

(little instrumental thingy here)

You're going to Portland
You're going to Portland in the fall
you're going to Portland
you're going to Portland in the fall

It's pretty cliche I know. But I'm still kinda new to writing lyrics.
I can honestly say I have really been far even as decided to use even go want to do look more like.

I don't always post on UG, but when I do, I post in the Pit. Stay thirsty my friends.
Last edited by IMABBALLPLAYER at Feb 10, 2009,
Your chorus is intolerable. So boring and plain. 4 lines of repeating the same god-damned idea. Stretch out a bit; explore your ability to paint something.

You don't need to write a song like a novel. I don't need you to tell me every bit of the story. Paint a picture. As the saying goes, "show me, don't tell me." You want to take your writing to the next level? INvest time into learning to paint a picture with words; instead of narrating a scene. Why is this person who's going to portland important? Why do you love this person? Why is portland such a big deal? You can sum up all of these by painting a scene instead of narrating an event. Create a world we can immerse ourselves in. Don't be Nickelback. They tell a story in the most boring ways ever, "Then she jumped into my truck and I hit the gas and her daddy's screamin'... blah blah fuckity blah."