Poll: Which one? Self teaching or lessons?
Poll Options
View poll results: Which one? Self teaching or lessons?
Self-teaching
38 54%
Taking lessons
33 46%
Voters: 71.
So which do you guys prefer? Teaching yourself to play (anything) or taking lessons from someone on it?

i always found that lessons could mess with your limits. when i started playing drums, i took lessons. when i stopped the lessons, it was hard for me to keep playing because i didnt rly know where to go anymore, and i thought there was this very specific set of rules about drumming

then i started guitar, and i was (and still am) completely self taught. i play guitar ALOT more than drums (2-ish hours a week on drums, 15+ hours a week on guitar). I never have to think about what to do next because im the only one that knows what i can do
you honestly don't know what you're talking about.
lessons teach you theory and much better technique. it doesn't limit you.
Quote by Immortal_Guitar
ExiledSoul, you have just won the Best UG Liar award. Thanks for participating with your incredible dumbassery and lies.

Quote by gsr2k6
I have a turd with a carrot stuck in it. Its the GREATEST pet ever, makes quite the mess though.
Last edited by exiledsoul at Feb 10, 2009,
i kinda agree, i took a year of guitar lessons and after that i started to explore some but now have come to the point where i'm not very disciplined. i have the self motivation to practice but not the motivation to learn much new stuff, i'd rather try to learn new songs and thus miss learning techniques via exercises.

so really, i wanna get back into taking lessons, but i don't have the time i used to have. i took lessons in sixth grade. graudated 08. that's six more years worth of lessons that i could have had, but didn't. thanks mom and dad
Last edited by dudius at Feb 10, 2009,
Lessons are clearly better, they teach you better technique. However, I couldnt stand taking lessons, been mostly self-taught
Quote by Zardokk