I read on this forum, long before I ever decided to post, that almost all guitarists are copycats of someone before them. The muse of creation has its perks, pulls, re-inventions, and do overs. But are we truly copycats, or have we selected a base color for our sound that we can improve on. I want to know what you think. Why did you start playing, what were the circumstances, what sound invented you...if you will?

a Little about myself. (Fitting for a first post really). I started playing stick in 99, after my brother quit and left a Seagull Acoustic lying around the house. I never really learned anything special. Am-Em-G-D, you know the basics. From there I took advice from anyone that would listen. I used to carry that Seagull around with me all the time, trying to learn as much as I could. I used to have random guys come over and pull the old, "Mind I play a bit" on me. I never cared, still don’t. If your better than me, that’s cool. And whether you know it or not, I learn something new every time I watch someone play. I still haven’t taken lessons, and I'm really not all that great, but I got this way by watching people. I'd like to say that I’ve been a copycat of everyone that I have come into contact with in some way.

In 2006, I wanted to get into Electrics. I got a Les Paul Studio for Christmas, and a Line 6 Spider III. I like the set up, as it gives me the flexibility to play whatever I want. Tone, sound, brightness, and low end are good enough for my ear. I always wanted a Marshall Stack, but then who didn't? I never really cared about getting better faster, as I knew that time would cure all. When I was young with the Guitar, I used to get upset when someone would show me up, even though I knew it was inevitable. I can’t really explain why, other than admitting that Guitar was more about meeting girls and impressing friends than making music and bearing my soul. That’s the beginning for most of us, really.