Hi guys,

I've been playing guitar for a few months now, and I definitely want to go further then bedroom practice.
I think I transmitted the "I wanna play an instrument" disease to some mates, one of them started playing guitar two weeks ago, and he's really enthousiastic(sp?).
So another friend desperately wants to start playing bass, and yet another has wanted to take up drumming again (which he quit years back) but didn't have the money for it, but now that he has a job, he's started saving.

So the drummer said his dad wouldn't mind having us all in their shed in the yard. (so yeah, misleading topic title, eh?) Which should fit seeing as we've had like 20 people stacking in that thing.
We all still need to learn our instrument, no doubt about that. But I can safely say that I'm getting there, and the other guitarist is really driven, apparently he can't shut up about it. :P
But I doubt it'll hurt to start looking ahead.

So, I had two questions:
One:
How do we start?
My idea would be to try out a few simple songs, we're all basically into metal (me mainly the classical kind, them more the newer kind, but whatever, I figured a cool name would be Defenders Of The Faith...Judas Priest album....get it? Faith as in metal?....I'm funny....*cough*)
However, my question is: How much did you people practice at first? We all live pretty close so that's not a problem.
Once a week for 3-4 hours? Or more often and shorter, 1-2 hours? Tips please!

Also, we're all still pretty poor, pretty young (19-21). Our hopefully soon to be bassist has been looking for an axe for 2 weeks, but he can't find any second hand thingy within his price range(Anyone with a spare bass near Oss in ye aulde Netherlands willing to sell it for around €150 ? Amp already taken care off, I believe.)