Im starting to see that im having a lot of trouble learning how tp play faster with my fretting hand. What I am starting to believe is that my technique is wrong and its not allowing me to advance farther. I still cant play too fast without screwing up a lot or just playing real slow and ive been playing for quite a while.

Can somebody do me a favor and show me proper motion techniques with the fretting hand, specifically where the thumb should be on the back of the neck, mine always seems to be really high up and I am not sure if that is the problem or if thats ok. I am completely self taught so I never had someone to correct me on this stuff. Thanks,

if you can post a youtube video with a camera on the back of the neck so i can see the movements that would be awesome.

THANKS

Any other tips are appreciated
i dont think thumb positions matter much, i have short thumbs [sounds wierd] but my fingers reach just fine. playing fast does take a lot of practice and finger strength building.

do chromatic scales all the way from open to the 12th fret through all the strings and then backwards from high e 12th fret to low e open.

you MUST practice with a metronome! you can use one online or spend about 30-40 bucks on a combo tuner/metronome. start slow with no mistakes[60 bpm] go up 5 bpm each time you can go through flawlessly.

after you feel your finger strength has improved, learn/play some blues and apply your skills with the blues scale. and then you can start to learn modes like lydian or phrygian etc etc [spelling?]

again it's not important what motion your hands should be moving to play fast but how they've come to move playing fast.

i hope this has helped!!
READ THIS F***ING STICKY!

Okay, see that link?

Go there, bookmark it, whatever. I constantly refer to this. It helps quite a bit. If you haven't read through it already, definitely read it... from... the... BEGINNING.