Alright, so I'm looking for a mic. Don't know much about how they work or what all I need to use one. I'm just starting out a band, but this is mostly just for me.

Basically, I just want something better than my laptop mic to record vocals. Right now I have a Tascam US-144 going to my Dell XPS m 1530. Reading about it, it seems like a condenser mic is better, but I'm not exactly sure what the difference is.

Also, once we do get the band up and running it would be nice if we could use this mic to sing while practicing. I don't know if you need different mics for recording and for singing live, so anything you can tell me will help me out. I'm really new to this whole recording thing.

I may eventually want to record an acoustic too.

I feel like that was a bit rambling so ask me if something's unclear.

Here were a couple I was looking at:

Behringer XM8500 $19.99
Nacy SPC-25 Condenser $34.99
And then of course the Shure 57 and 58 for $100

I'm leaving towards the Behringer because it's the cheapest, got good reviews, and quality isn't super important.

Is this all I would need, or do I need some other cables or something? Remember, I have the Tascam US-144.

Thanks, sorry for the long post and newb questions
Shure sm58 best mic you can buy
Luna Andromeda dragon bass
Schecter Omen Extreme
Fender strat
Fender Labrea electic/acoustic
Peavey tour 450
Peavey tour 410/115
Galien-kruger Backline 600
Black Heart BH15h
Gibson Les Paul gold top (Knock off)
go shure sm58. just bought one, i'd never go back after it
Check out my music:
Sideshow

"Swing your hips, not your fists"- Cedric Bixler Zavala
Will it really be worth $80 more to me though? I'm not doing this professionally, just for me.
It's extremely important that you buy a good quality mic. If you opt for the cheaper one, you will be extremely disappointed with the result. Go for the Shure. You will upgrade to it anyway once you see what a poor quality mic does.