Just figured I'd dump pictures in here as I progress, here is how it sits now. I went with a mild carve on the top since it's my first build, carved the horns etc, then made a forearm bevel (not visible in the pictures but it goes down about 5mm, also the carves are more dramatic in person, probably will show up in pictures better after I dye it). Today I'll route the pickup cavities and neck pocket, then finish sanding and hopefully start the two part dying process. Body is a 7.5" strip of Mahogony coupled with 3" soft maple wings, top is bookmatched quilted maple.

Anyway, pictures:

Looks great so far

Is the top glued down? because in the 2nd picture where you have carved some fret access there looks to be a gap between the top and the body?

Quote by dogismycopilot
Absent Mind, words cant express how much i love you. Id bone you, oh yea.

Quote by lumberjack
Absent Mind is, as usual, completely correct.

Quote by littlemurph7976
Id like to make my love for Neil public knowledge as he is a beautiful man
More pics with better lighting, and of the whole body and back for us to ogle? What are you plans as far as specs go?
Great job so far however id be tempted to go to town on the lower horn to really get the PRS carve going on it. In fact if it were me I'd just go the whole hog and do the lot i dont see the point in half measures.
ESP M-1 - Dimarzio Super3
Ibanez RG3270 ToneZone/Blue Velvet/Paf Pro
Ibanez RG1527
PRS CE22
Mercer Blackmachine Replica

Diezel Herbert
Diezel Einstein Combo
TC GMajor

Gain Wh0re and Diezel Mafioso
I can't stand double cuts like this, but I appreciate how good it looks so far, and that's some really nice maple. I like how the quilting gives a gentle shimmer, instead of being too pronounced like you see on too many guitars, IMHO.
Quote by lumberjack
More pics with better lighting, and of the whole body and back for us to ogle? What are you plans as far as specs go?