I was thinkin about upgrading from a Schecter C7FR to a Ibanez S7320. So, apparently people say that it's pickups are pretty bad, i have no experience with it and no stores around me sell ibanez's and none have a S7. So i was going to order and S7 and replace the pickups with Passive Dimarzio's (as to avert the cost of putting in actives and having to get the back routed out and a battery slot put in).

So what would be the best 7-string Dimarzio (passive) pickups for metal? (Think Whitechapel, Unearth, All Shall Perish, just real heavy stuff)

I know Ibanez puts D'Activator's in the Xiphos 7, so...any thoughts?

GUITARS CURRENTLY USED
Ibanez RG7621
Ibanez RG121
ESP LTD H-400
Yeah but they don't have sound bytes for over 50% of those pickups, including the ones i was looking at like the X2N and the D'Activators

GUITARS CURRENTLY USED
Ibanez RG7621
Ibanez RG121
ESP LTD H-400
I was gonna get 2 different pickups because i like crushing low metal, but then i also need one for good clean stuff in the neck position.

so...X2N for bridge? people say they got loads of output, what should i use for neck?

GUITARS CURRENTLY USED
Ibanez RG7621
Ibanez RG121
ESP LTD H-400
X2n has no bass at all, it's all mids/treble. Go for a Duncan Distortion, it's got the tone I think you're after.
Current Gear:
LTD MH-400 with Gotoh GE1996T (EMG 85/60)
PRS SE Custom 24 (Suhr SSH+/SSV)
Ibanez RG3120 Prestige (Dimarzio Titans)
Squier Vintage Modified 70s Jazz V
Audient iD22 interface
Peavey Revalver 4, UAD Friedman BE100/DS40
Adam S3A monitors
Quote by Anonden
You CAN play anything with anything....but some guitars sound right for some things, and not for others. Single coils sound retarded for metal, though those who are apeshit about harpsichord probably beg to differ.
Quote by SPBY
I was gonna get 2 different pickups because i like crushing low metal, but then i also need one for good clean stuff in the neck position.