Okay so i've ALLWAYS been using 10-46 string gauge on my SG, but recently i've been playing some dropped tuning with it. That's not really a big deal since the strings don't behave any weirder than what they would have done in standard tuning. But anyway, my question is: What do you think is the "normal" string gauge for a SG, and what do you think i the heaviest gauge a SG could take without having to adjust the guitar?

Still kinda newbie here and i've never gotten these questions answered before.

Thanks guys!
...What!?
there isn't really a normal strings gauge. but I believe the Epiphone G400 comes with 0.010's.
as for the heaviest gauge, you probably need to adjust it a little bit with every change of string gauge.
A hero of war, Yeah that's what I'll be

(.)(.)..........(.)(.)..........(.)(.)..........(.)(.)..........(.)(.)..........(.)(.)..........(.)(.)
personally i use 46-9 since its easier to bend the e string... but it all comes down to personal preference up to a certain point. I mean i read somewhere that SRV used huge stings and he played a strat...
Gibson sg special ebony
Boss Gt-10
Roland microcube
marshall mg10

Merry birthday jesus
The only problem with the SG's is the lack of neck support, so you don't want to put anything too heavy on in fear of warping the neck.

I use .11-.52 on my G-400, but I like to feel my strings, I don't think I'd go any higher for the above reason. But for example, if I had a strat, i would use somthing like .11-.60.

EDIT - All of the above is for standard/drop D, but if you were planning on doing anything lower, I would use a larger gauge.
Listen to my band - www.myspace.com/theacidiks
Fender MIM P Bass - Badass II Bridge, Seymour Duncan (Basslines) SPB-3 - Strings 55-115 (Standard Tuning)
EHX Big Bass Muff
Ashdown MAG 300 2-10T
Epiphone G-400 (.11-.52)
LGBT
Last edited by kingofchilis at Feb 14, 2009,