Hi. I'm an accomplished guitarist but have never really learned to shred like the greats. What's the best way to learn? I don't know of anyone in my area that can give me lessons, plus, I'll be moving in a few months to head to college, so a private tutor doesn't seem reasonable.

It's not even that I necessarily want to learn how to shred, I just want to take my playing to the next level in some aspect. Any books, DVDs, or other material I should know about?
First thing: ALWAYS PRACTICE WITH A METRONOME.

It makes a huge difference and allows you to play cleaner and more efficiently.
A good book is John Petrucci's Wild Stringdom, a collection of his columns in Guitar World.
a book called speed mechanics for lead guitar by troy stetina helped me a lot. best of luck
Yeah, definitely look into anything from John Petrucci, as he is one of the best. (If not the best)
learn from dave mustaine...... ha jk but like the first guy to reply use a metronome, learn scales (pentatonic and diatonic), learn string skipping arpeggios and sweep arpeggios, learn music theory it all helps a lot.
PS: i like dave but i don't like his shredding.
My Gear:
Ibanez RG-350 YE w/ Super Dist. and PAF pro pups
ESP LTD KH-602
Dean db razorback
Fender Squier Strat
Epiphone goth bass
acoustic unknown brand
Digitech Rp250
Line 6 Spider 3
Peavey Vypyr 75 watt