Hiya guys, I've been playing guitar for about 2 years now and have decided that it's time for me to get a new guitar.

Up until now, I've been playing a yamaha pacifica 612, and have been pretty pleased with it; But it doesn't have the capabilities that I would like, such as:

Locking tremolo
Thin fast neck
Pickups for getting heavier rock/metal tones.

I play mainly classic rock and metal, but occasionally some clean as well. I would like a guitar that's good for fast playing and stuff with the whammy bar, but can also get nice cleans.

I've had my eyes on ibanez guitars for a while now, and there seems to be so many different models, that I don't know where to begin.

My price limit is preferably between £600-£1000, so can anybody please suggest a good ibanez, or another similar guitar

Thanks
1570 with a pickup change sounds about right
Quote by fleajr_1412
You have amazing taste in men.

Are You a PROG-HEAD? I am.
For £600, I challenge you to not find a decent guitar with those specifications.

Ibanez or Jackson is what I would reccomend, but I'd reccomend Ibanez further.

If the thin fast neck isn't all that important to you, may I suggest the Mockingbird ST?
I was thinking about buying one, and it was only like £470.
The UG Awards exist only to instill me with existential doubt.

For me, the 60's ended that day in 1978...

Willies. Fuck the lick and fuck you too.
I'd get an LTD Horizon, or spend a few hundred more and get an ESP Horizon FR II.

Coil-split should get you nice cleans, the necks are far better than any Ibanez or Jackson I've tried.
And it shreds!
Last edited by Horlicks at Feb 15, 2009,
This
Mine is arriving in a couple of days and I'll be doing a review soon. Can't go wrong with 81/85, ebony fretboard and all the other spec stuff for this type of guitar.
I pick up my guitar and play
Just like Yesterday

T C Ellis Series 2 LP w/Skatterbrane Quiescence pups
Cort EVL-K6
Yamaha RGX211 modded
H&S Electric 12-string
Shaftsbury Ricki 4001