Hello, everybody.

As the title to the thread says, I'm new to customizing, but want to build me a custom guitar.

I'm not too bad with a brush, so I don't think the finish will be too difficult (just a few cans of paint, then a spray gloss, right?).

Basically, the four problems I have here is the electronics (absolutely no clue), getting the electronics themselves, the inlays, and obtaining the correct wood.

Any advice would be appreciated, thanks in advance.
Do you know how to shape the body/neck or are you going to buy them?
Gear:
Schecter Hellraiser Deluxe
Boss DS-1
Crate GTD65

GAS List:
Mesa Boogie Dual Rectifier Roadster
Um, I'm pretty sure I'll be able to figure out how to shape the body once the mysteries of the electronics are revealed to me.

Neck, not so much.

Oh, and I want to be using a fixed bridge, kinda important, lol.

And nothing special, just a six string.
Guitar building columns anyone ? Try google before UG, you can even choose the info that's right for you instead of waiting.
I love music, if music would be a girl then I'd date her, until then let's get back on Earth
What kind of inlay's did you want, into what wood fretboard?
Just call me Bobby
Member of the official GB&C "Who to Listen to" list
Quote by mikeyElite
you build guitars worthy of sexual favors

Quote by Invader Jim
if this party gets any livelier a funeral is gonna break out.
Sharkfin inlays, definitely.

Would making them out of glass or plastic be a good idea?

Probably an ebony fretboard, I want this to look metal-y.
Maybe you should try building a bowl instead?

Kidding, but google would help you much more in your current situation of know-nothingness.
Gear
Fender Thinline Telecaster Deluxe

1983 Aria Pro II XX Deluxe Flying V

2007 S101 EGU34

1963 Kay Vanguard

1964 Kay Vanguard

AXL Badwater SRO

Hondo Strat

1974 Acoustic(brand) 134 4x10 combo

Epiphone Valve Jr.
As recommended, a quick google search explained that yes, in fact, plastic inlays are a good idea.