I've been playing for under 3 years and I've just started to attempt improvisational soloing within the last 6 months or less. I don't do it all that much since I'm also trying to learn to sing and there's only so much time. Finally, I made an effort over the weekend to try to learn the different chord forms and my soloing just went from crap to decent in a couple of days. I had read material talking about how important this was but for whatever reason I thought I could just get away with practicing pentatonics which is what I had been doing. What made me realize that I needed to look it this was thinking about seeing people jam where they are playing multiple strings at once (something that was much harder for me when keeping my main focus on the pentatonic notes). The most common thing that I'd seen was people barring the D, G, and B strings and hammering and whatnot off of the barres. I started trying it myself and realized it was easy and then started branching off into different chord forms. With a little practice and since I already have the finger coordination from a few years of playing, it was very easy. Had I realized how much this would help, I would have done it sooner.

I just wanted to share a little of what I learned. To the proficient or better soloists, you don't really need to read on because I won't be saying anything you don't already know.

My first piece of advice is to learn the chord forms and the pentatonic scales but if you learn the chord forms you already have the pentatonic scales built in. If you don't know what it is, Google "CAGED". It's a system for finding the different chord forms. Learn to play songs using the different forms and you've added a powerful weapon to your arsenal because you can create harmony and when you mix octaves and invert chords you have something interesting.