Page 1 of 2
Am I wrong to expect to find musicians who don't get lost the second I mention ANY music theory? Am I wrong when I expect them to know their key signatures, time signatures, chords, and scales? Do these people exist or am I the only ****ing one?

When I ask if you can improvise I mean the correct way. In the key, using a scale, using the CORRECT scale, not by ****ing ear. Is this wrong?

"I don't need that music theory stuff. I just play what sounds good."

**** YOU! It doesn't sound good when you can't stay in the god damned key! Rehearsing with one of you ****ers is like torture. I might as well be speaking ****ing greek!

Yeah, that's great that you're self-taught and all the bull****. I am too! I know what the **** I'm doing, though. I don't give a **** if your favorite band doesn't know music theory! It's the glorification of such bull**** that creates more of you ****ers.

SHIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIT.

So yeah, am I wrong?
no you're not wrong, your standards are just too high. not everyone is a theory whiz, or studies it. and what's wrong with doing it by ear, if you get it right?
Quote by -Collapse-
Oh, hello mister tracer! Lets dance!
Quote by CodySG
And we all poop in the sandwiches!

New Drug Chat, Eh? CLICK HERE

pass: misterhoffman
You're cool.
My meh gear:
ESP LTD MH-400NT
Peavey Raptor Plus EXP
Digitech RP90
Digitech Bad Monkey
Electro-Harmonix Big Muff Pi (WTS)
Crate GT15 (SHIT)

GAS:
Peavey 6505 112 combo
MXR 10-band EQ
Ibanez TS-9
Boss HR-2
Compressor (open to suggestions)
Yes. I'm self taught, not very good on most theory, but at the same time, still manage to play what sounds good. And, surprise surprise, it actually sounds good.

Yes, theory is good to know, but you shouldn't think of yourself as so high and mighty over the people who don't know it.

SRV didn't know any theory, remember.
My Old Progressive Metal Band:
Acrasia
For fans of Between The Buried and Me, Dream Theater, Cynic.

My New Progressive Rock/Djent Band: