Hello all,
I have been playing guitar for about 4 years now. I have always been a bit modest about it. My friends often tell me I'm good but I'm sure most understand what it's like to hold yourself up to Hendrix, Richards, Clapton and B.B. My question for you - so I can gain a little perspective - is 'What song was it that made you decide for yourselves that you were finally good at guitar?"
Thanks
J
when i got master of puppets down almost without any mistakes, that was the point for me i guess lol
When I finally got Bastard Chain by Soilwork down, even though I thought it was way out of my league.
You shall listen to Kamelot.
When I attempted to play Flight of the Bumblebee for the school talent show after like 6 months of playing, and failed moderately bad. Extremely bad actually
I used to be able to play the solos for Enter Sandman and The Trooper after about 1.5 - 2 years of playing, although I can't really play them anymore so they were probs really messy when I played them before.
TRANSFORMICE

Back when I listened to simple music, after about 7 months of playing I finally learned Bark At The Moon by Ozzy Osbourne and I thought I was really awesome. I got over all that cockiness though, and now after for playing 3 years I don't think I'm any good. Even though my friends think I'm the best guitarist in our school, they are just comparing me to other people who suck, or comparing me to the guitarists they listen to in their pop music or whatever.
Quote by C O B H C
If you want to get really technical about it..

1. Grab sticks.
2. Bang sticks on drums.

^how to play drums.

UG POKER
Depends on what you describe as "good".
If you want to be good in a way where mosty ppl would regard you as "good", then you don't have to know a lot of guitar. It's more your whit that plays a role there I think.