I've been playing guitar for two years now and i would say im at the early intermediate stage of playing. I enjoy learning songs but lately i've been really into leads. I was wondering how you guys here on UG learned to solo/ improvise. I've been stuck in the pentatonic box and have been having trouble making my solo's sound different from one another. I'm not to keen on studying hours of theory and stuff and i know knowing the fretboard is key but everyone must have certain tricks they like to do etc. Or where/how they learned to solo. I play all sorts of music but i'm more into hard rock and metal. Rock in general i guess would be a better statement. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Current GEAR:
2014 LTD EC401
1991 Gibson Explorer
Digitech Whammy V
OCD/Timmy Clone
Wampler Triple Wreck Clone
Fuzzhugger AB-synth
Orange Crush 20RT
TC Alter Ego x4
Mostly trial and error with me, i dont know too much theory, enough to get by but not allllot.
Also learning different styles of music really helped me write different sorts of solo's from slow bluesy solo's to quicker thrashy ones, whatever the song requires.
I dont take soloing too seriously, aslong as i feel it when i'm playing it and dont screw up too badly its all good with me.
Originally Posted by Chromeproguitar
they make horrible noises in the middle of the night (is it sex?)

Quote by CliffIsAngry
I guess she's pretty hot if you're into that "having a good music video, but not better than Beyonce's" kind of thing...
I learned a lot by videos from guitar players like Paul Gilbert, Steve Vai, etc. However learning songs with solos has helped me a lot as well. After I learn the solo, I figure out how it works out, and take ideas from it. Stuff like that has helped me out