Hey all!

I'm new to scales and modes and i've been working on them for a couple days but i feel brain dead now and i have a couple questions.

1. Can any major fingering position be used in any key to form that keys scale? Example.. Using the C scale fingering of C D E F G A B C in the key of C appears that if i moved that same fingering patteren to A or any other key that it would form that keys scale. Is this true and is it true for all fingering patterens in the major scale?

2. Is every key named from Ionian, Dorian, Phrygian, Lydian, Mixolydian, Aoelian and Locrian? so if i played in the D key would it be D Dorian? If it is then if i played in key D and started on the E note would this be D Phrygian?

Thanks for any help and sorry if i made no sense lol.
Last edited by LaRot at Feb 17, 2009,
Quote by LaRot
Hey all!

I'm new to scales and modes and i've been working on them for a couple days but i feel brain dead now and i have a couple questions.

1. Can any major fingering position be used in any key to form that keys scale? Example.. Using the C scale fingering of C D E F G A B C in the key of C appears that if i moved that same fingering patteren to A or any other key that it would form that keys scale. Is this true and is it true for all fingering patterens in the major scale?

2. Is every key named from Ionian, Dorian, Phrygian, Lydian, Mixolydian, Aoelian and Locrian? so if i played in the D key would it be D Dorian? If it is then if i played in key D and started on the E note would this be D Phrygian?

1. Yes, but be aware that the B string is tuned a major third (4 frets) above the G string, as opposed to a perfect fourth (5 frets). That kinda ****s with the pattern. You just have to move the notes on the upper two strings up one fret.