I need this clarified in my head because it keeps confusing me..

a perfect fourth is E to A, or a perfect fourth could be F sharp to B. I keep getting confused if this changes depending on the key of the song and also i get confused about it in chords...i understand majors have a major 3rd and minor chords contain a flattened third, but how does this relate to what key you are in.
I am just starting to learn mudic theory but i dont think f sharp to b is an interval becasuse there is a whole step every other not but on f there is a half does that make sense if not forgive me im just starting to lean music thoey after 10 years of playing
F# to B is 2 1/2 steps which is 5 semitones, so yes it is a perfect fourth...I think, I'm a noob player but I know a good bit of theory
Last edited by hendrixism at Feb 19, 2009,
a perfect fourth is always 5 semitones away, don't listen to youngncy at all.
yes e to a, and f# to b are perfect fourths. and a perfect fourth doesn.t change from key signatures
E to A will always be a perfect fourth, doesn't matter what key. and yes, F# to B is a perfect fourth, I do believe. intervals between two specific notes are what they are, and they don't change with different keys.
yup, you're right about the perfect fourths. every key works the same way. they just contain different intervals depending on if they are major or minor. so the interval pattern for A minor is the same as for B minor, C minor, D minor, etc... you just start on a different root note.

as for your question about thirds and chords work... if you are in a major key, it means that all your chords are derived from the notes of your major scale. let's use C major and C minor as an easy example.

for C major, you interval pattern is: 1 - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - 6 - 7. nice and simple, no sharps or flats.

C D E F G A B C