I'm a (pretty much) complete beginner and have been playing for around a month. I can easily play Plug in Baby, Good Riddance (although I've not learned the chorus yet) and the likes and I'm starting to think about getting some form of pedal for fun.

What order do people recommend for getting pedals? I was thinking of getting a Vox Satchurator as the distortion on my amp isn't great and his sound is fantastic. What would then be the recommendation? Wah, whammy, delay?

Thanks in advance.

HH
Quote by Kensai
Please, I eat gays for breakfast...

Quote by Kensai
I must be even further in the closet then
all depends on what kind of sound you're looking for. a good overdrive or distortion is nice to have if you aren't happy with what your amp has. there are tons of different sounding distortion pedals though, ranging from vintage sounds all the way up to heavy metal sounds, so it depends on the type of music you want to play.
My music taste is, frankly, all over the place. I've been playing some Muse, some Metallica, The Killers, eventually a bit of Joe Satriani, although not for some time yet, Scorpions.

Thanks.
Quote by Kensai

Quote by Kensai
I just read something in GW about the Satchurator,(AWESOME WORD), they said it gives the sound of an amp enough distortion and could go over the top. If the distortion sounds like, maybe a JSX, that would be a good buy.
Quote by LuthierofTexas
You have no experience with racks??? What kind of guy are you?
I'd get a cheap multi-effects pedal or borrow one from a friend, so you can have a mess around with a variety of effects before getting something pretty specific (as a lot of pedals are) that can only do a limited sound (albeit very well).

*edit* If you're just looking for a single pedal though, I'd go for a distortion pedal- I've no idea as to which pedals are good for what music, but I'm guessing a digital pedal'd be better than an analogue if you play a wide range of music.
Last edited by MopMaster at Feb 19, 2009,