Now don't get me wrong think rgt guitar exams are a good guideline to learn guitar(doing grade 5 soon). It just feels like I'm not learning the way violin players or piano players learn their instrument with good music theory. I do understand music theory I just can't understand those little black dots so if I start from scratch I might become a competent guitar player someday. Discuss if you like but my question is are there any good sites that will start you off from scratch on reading music for the guitar?
Don't be fooled - I played violin and trombone at school, and never learned any theory until I had to, cos you needed grade 5 theory to take the grade 6 practical exams. Sure, I learned to read music, but thats as theoretical as it got til then.

As far as reading music for guitar - I'd just get a tune-a-day book or something like that. It'll be incredibly boring tunes, because its designed for absolute beginners, but it'll teach you to read music.

Or if you can just find a site that teaches you to read music, don't worry about whether its specifically for guitar or not. The music says the same thing whatever instrument its for, and provided you know the fretboard you'll be able to apply it. Just start off playing everything in first position and when you get more confident start moving around the fretboard a bit.
You'd be able to find a good book in any good music shop. But if you want a site to teach you this is really a job for www.google.com
"Battle not with monsters, lest ye become a monster, and if you gaze into the abyss, your eyes will get sore after a while."
Firstly, there is no such thing as learning the right way, as long as the information you process is correct.

Second, www.musictheory.net use the note trainer a bit everyday, learn some songs from notation and your good to go.
Quote by Zaphod_Beeblebr
Theory is descriptive, not prescriptive.

Quote by MiKe Hendryckz
theory states 1+1=2 sometimes in music 1+1=3.
Quote by Virtuoso883