Hi, I've been playing bass for a little over 3 years now, and I'm trying to learn everything I possibly can theory wise so I can be an all around player and have a lot of knowledge of the instrument and how playing it works. Part of this requires reading sheet music and such, as I learn from Mel Bay and other lesson books where they teach you that way. Then in one book I saw a line from the author that said "99.9% of all rock bassists will be reading off sheet music for gigs, so you need to be prepared".

Now I know that's definitely not true because 99.9% of rock musicians are musicians that actually have stage presence and play on stage impressing the crowd, not sitting down or standing with a stand in front of them. But this made me think. I know that for a lot of other genres, such as jazz, this is true, but is it really advantageous to use sheet music if you're strictly a rock/metal musician? Like not knowing the theory itself, because that's important, but just reading it from sheet music? I'm still going to learn it anyway because it's the universal music language (and I used to play saxophone so it helps), but do rock and metal musicians ever actually write out their stuff in musical notation? And if not how often would they read from it?

If anyone knows what I'm talking about or what I'm getting at, please try to help me understand. I don't know if I worded it the way I'm trying to explain it and express it, but hopefully this will due.
idk it really really depends on the situation. if you care enough to learn music notation, it'll pay off. it can't hurt, especially if you can already read somewhat from sax.

that's what made sight reading guitar music easy for me, i played trumpet for five years lol
ADD

Check out my self-recorded demos on my profile!!! C4C

Separation is an illusion.