I'm thinking about picking up a new guitar. I really don't care for the feel and sound of my Cort. I was looking at either a Schecter C-1+ or a Strat. I have't found a store around me that has a Schecter that I can try, but from what I've read and seen on YouTube they seem like very good guitars. I've played a few Strats before, and they felt very nice (the fretboards especially).

I play a range of music, but mostly rock, ranging from alternative to lighter grunge/metal (not into the really heavy metal though). I'm still fairly new at guitar though, so I'm looking at getting as much range as I can if I pick up new styles (which is what drew me to the Schecters--two volume knobs & coil tap seemed like it might give me the range I'm looking for).

I was planning on getting a guitar used. There's a ~1 year old Koa Strat on Craigslist for around $450 (my budget's around $500, tops), and the C-1+ goes for around $400 on ebay... Anyone have any experience with either of these?

I've never bought a used instrument from an individual before--is there anything in particular I should look for?
what's your amp?
Jenneh

Quote by TNfootballfan62
Jenny needs to sow her wild oats with random Gibsons and Taylors she picks up in bars before she settles down with a PRS.

Set up Questions? ...Q & A Thread

Recognised by the Official EG/GG&A/GB&C WTLT Lists 2011
Schecter.

I believe fender have such poor build quality, from action and trem design to neck joints and fret installation.
lolSchecterlover

Anyway I say play both the with your amp or the closest model to it. Find what works better for YOU! I would lean toward a strat because they tend to have better tone than most schecters in most cases, but always go for the better feeling and good tone guitar.

Given your choice in music id lean toward strats, Gretches (any and all of their Jet series), and/or SGs but thats my opinion.
Quote by SuperJoop
Schecter.