SO im wondering about active pick ups how are they different then passives?How often do I need to change the batterys? Basicly I need to know about active pick ups in general.
My gear
Schecter 7 string hellraiser
1984 Charvel (model unknown)
Mesa boogie Dual Recto Solo head
and some pedels!

UG's HateCrew Member
Im not an expert or anything close, but think actives have a built in pre-amp which gives the pickup a higher output.... That is probably absolutely wrong, so wait until someone comes in who knows what there talking about.

But for batteries, i'd change em once every couple of months just to be safe.
You can call me Aaron.

♠♣♥♦
Out on parole, any more instances of plum text and I get put back in...
The batteries last something like 3000 hours, so you don't need to change them for quite a while. It's a 9v too. And I think above is correct about the preamp.
yea for a present for passing my Ged my grandfather bought me a Schecter C1 hellraiser FR and now im trying to figure out about active PUPs.
My gear
and some pedels!

UG's HateCrew Member
Bump I want to know more!
My gear
and some pedels!

UG's HateCrew Member
Much higher output than most passives.
EMGs in your Schecter?

I find them to have a lot of bite and attack, really suited to heavy distortion. (Great through rectifiers and other high-gain amps)

They need the battery's changing...well, not that often. Don't leave the guitar plugged in when you're not using it though, 'cos it'll drain the battery. Change them when you notice a drop in output and a muddier less defined sound.
Last edited by Mazzakazza at Feb 21, 2009,
Yeah its EMGs.What amp do you suggest all I have atm is the peavy 158 rage.
My gear
and some pedels!

UG's HateCrew Member
That's a solid state, right?

They won't sound that great through it, but you can tweak out decent tone from it if you balance it right. It'll never sound as good as a tube amp though, which I'd recommend getting if you can afford it, with active pups.