first off hi everyone, before my question let me just say that I'm a total noob .....let the flames begin,,,lol
anyways what makes a fender strat any better then any other stat available out there? i see them going for big time money on some of these but why is that,is it just a name?maybe there pickups are far superior to others? are there any other companies out there that makes a comparable strat that's better?I'm currently learning on a strat but its just a cheap peavey one.....I'm by no mean dissing any of you who own them , i drool i the thought of having a fender of my own someday.....any tidbits you guys can shed on this would be nice ..............
Nothing really , the name has it's price i suppose
but if it lot off expeciver maybe its the pickups
are they hum buckers or single coild ?
Humbukers look like 2 singles together
It depends what your playing a fender strat would be better for blues and country. but i would recomend it for metal/ shred we have jackson soloist's for that
everything about them is superior.

the woods tonal qualitys

the pick ups

the real expensive ones are often built by a single person ( a luthier)

and fender is the original... any other strat is just a copy.

seriously, they are worth every penny, and one day i hope to own hundreds haha
Gear:

Mesa/boogie dual rectifier
Fender Telecaster USA
Epiphone Les Paul
Epiphone Sheraton
Jackson KE3 Kelly Pro
Boss Super Chorus
Boss Super Overdrive
MXR Carbon Copy
Morley Pro Series Wah/Volume/Distortion
t.bone wireless system.
so all in all its like a rolex vs timex they both tell time
The wood, pickups, finish.
And oh, the fender necks feel so so good!
I got a MIM Fender Strat, 2001 used off of Craigslist for $120, so if you look around you should be able to find a good deal on a used one. MIMs are $400 new, so that's not too bad either..
I'm not a Bible-thumper anymore. Realized I had a brain in '09.

I like guitars, running, and math.