I have been playing for almost 2 years now, and do not know how improve my picking speed. Using my wrist only, I can tremolo only about 16th notes at 100bpm, with tension, about 120 and using my whole arm somewhere around 180.

I practice starting with a metronome around 40 and work my way up to 120 or so, making sure I am as relaxed as possible, with the least tension as possible, but I never seem to improve.

I am trying to increase my speed, and everyone says that I should "play slow", which I do, and from a coordination aspect, yes it helps. But coordinating my hands in not the problem, I just cannot pick fast enough, so it doesnt matter how synchronized my hands are if I cant pick faster than 100bpm without tension, I will never be able to play faster than 100bmp.

Is this a common problem? To whoever has a quick tremolo picking speed, how long did it take you to develop, I would think that by 2 years it would have been faster than I am.

And I know someone is bound to say "just practice", but I mean, I practice somewhere around 3 hours a day, 4 times a week, which I know I could do more, but I think I should be showing improvement off of that.
Gibson SG Standard
Ibanez S2170FB
Peavey JSX
Marshall 1960A
TEXAS A&M
You know, what helped me was just to play songs with tremolo parts instead of doing monotonous exercises. I eventually just..."got it."
breaking hearts
&
breaking guitars
Perhaps the problem is simply that you don't have the muscular control to pick rapidly? Maybe working out would be a good idea.
When life gives you lemons, squirt juice in your enemies' eyes.