Grrr
I've been playing guitar for about 2 years now, and I'm just starting to get serious about it. I even think I'm going to study music in Cegep (I'm from Quebec, so it's roughly the equivalent of college) in two years. Hopefully become a studio musician, then...who knows? However, I now realize that I don't feel like I'm practising correctly....

What I usually do is some chromatic exercises for dexterity, some scales (minor pentatonic, blues, major, minor) and practise whatever song or part of song I'm learning. I use a metronome for the chromatics and scales.

But I really feel like I could do a lot more, squeeze more juice out of my practice time.

I'm a student, so I try to get a minimum of 30-45 minutes per weekday, and at least 1-2 hour per weekend-day(?).

I play mostly classic rock and blues, but I enjoy pretty much anything except metal.

[edit]I have lessons once a week, for an hour.

So I hope you'll be able to help me out here: recommendations, tips, practice schedules? anything
If the most sought after things are often the most simple, then:

6 shoelaces of varying sizes tied onto a branch
+ 1 Quarter (pick)
----------------------------
= ULTIMATE TONE
Last edited by MCRibz at Feb 21, 2009,
If you want to get serious about it, and study music, you should get a guitar teacher. Seriously!
C4C
Please check out some of my original music and leave me a comment @ SoundCloud
(or in my profile!)

Progressive|Thrash|Math|Metal
I guess if you wanted to you could research (over the internet) more in depth theory.

You could start writing your own material too if you wanted to.

But really you're doing pretty much everything needed for optimal practice sessions.
The only thing you could do is have longer practice times, but obviously that might not
be possible when factoring in school, work, etc.
100w Peavey Valveking Head
Mesa Rectifier 4x12 Standard Cab
Ibanez RG 321
Boss DD-7
iSP Decimator x2
BBE Boosta Grande
Modded Crybaby
MXR Blue Box