I have been oddly frustrated over why I have trouble progressing technically on the guitar compared to all other instruments I have played (piano, percussion instruments). Building solid technique and speed have always been very very easy for me in piano and other instruments, but I never really made it past a certain speed in guitar.

-Some things that got me wondering were ...why is everyone else doing pinch harmonics so easily and I have been playing for 7 years and still can't seem to "choke" the pick up enough - I was starting to suspect it wasn't my lack of practice
-I can tap and do legato runs at blazing speeds, without practicing much. But when it comes to alternate picking, I stumble through 16th notes at 140 BPM - it didn't make any sense given how much I practiced technique and my track record with other instruments.

Then I started looking at the picking style of the great virtuosos and some good youtube players - they all have the base of their thumbs flat on the pick. All of them. its like if you were to take a fingerprint with your thumb and the pick was on the inkpad directly underneath your thumb, that's where it would be.

Well anyways, I have been anchoring the pick with more of the tip of my thumb than the base of my thumb. The best way to describe it is to make an "o" with your thumb and index finger (kind of like the "ok" symbol, and place the pick between the fingers with a small amount of the tip of the pick showing.

I tried using the base of my thumb but it feels very very awkward and will take a couple weeks of playing to get used to. The biggest issue I have with this new style is that my index finger keeps hitting the strings when I do rhythm playing....is this because I use Jazz 3 picks?
Last edited by psychosylocibin at Feb 22, 2009,
I don't know what the title has to do with the post, but yes, you're holding the pick incorrectly, which is probably the reason you can't do a pinch harmonic.
Quote by psychosylocibin