Ok so I have always wanted a Musicman stingray but I just started playing bass and I am never going to fork out $1000 for a bass so yeah. I just bought an acoustic/electric bass and I fell in love with bass...I should have just boughten an electric. Anyways so I could A. buy a bass (from rondo music) or B. Build one (err, buy prebuilt body and what not and just do my own finish essentially)

Positives of buying a bass

Rondomusic, has some dam good stuff. The electronics probably wont be TOO bad, and the finish will be better than anything I could ever do. Oh, and it is cheap.

Con

My dad would get really pissed if another bass/guitar was shipped to my house

Positives of building

Makes me feel good, fun, get exactly what I want and if I ship a non-built guitar to my house my dad wont really know what it is and wont question it (since I can tell him it was really cheap or somethin lol)

Cons

May not be as good (electronically and aesthetically) compared to one from rondomusic and it will be more expensive.

Anyways, I really want to build a stingray type bass. I was thinking of just getting a P-bass type body and neck and just creating the oval shaped pickguard but still use the pbass type pickup (since I have no means of routing the wood). Pretty simple, probably wouldnt look too horrible. But where should I get the body. I found a few on ebay but they are still a little pricey. Then I would need the neck, electronics, pickguard material and what not. I heard the saga kits are pretty crappy. Whats so bad? It seems like it would be the best deal (ebay has them for $125 for everything). The body and neck cant be that bad? The pickups might be a little crappy but its not too big of a deal (im just starting out). All I would really need is the pickguard material after that.

Does anyone know how the body of the saga kit is?