Page 1 of 2
OK so I'm pretty new to tube amps. Just really got into playing electric guitar. I've read at least a dozen threads on tube amps here and read tons of stuff elsewhere. Wanting to get a pretty decent tube amp. I'm looking to get something used for around $500-$700.

So far I've found several of each of these locally for around $550-$600.

Fender Hot Rod Deville 410: http://guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/Fender-Hot-Rod-DeVille-410?sku=480508

Marshall JCM2000 TSL602: http://guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/Marshall-JCM2000-TSL602-Combo-Amp?sku=483197

I play an American Deluxe Strat. I like to play a very diverse array of music, but I don't really dabble into extremely heavy metal. I mostly like to play blues and classic rock type stuff (SRV, Hendrix, Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, Eric Clapton, Allman Brothers, etc.). Now some questions. I'm a noob about this stuff so please help me out here...

1. Based on what I play, should I be more concerned with making sure I get an amp with sensational cleans? I have read that the Hot Rod Deville doesn't offer any good drive. I do have a Keeley modded TS-9 so should I be more worried about a great clean channel and just let my tube screamer pedal do the drive?

2. I've read that the Hot Rod Deville is just insanely loud. People claim to have played crowds of like 1000 with this thing on like 3. Is this accurate? Wouldn't not being able to turn the amp up past 1 or 2 in a practice or even small/medium gig setting keep you from really warming up the tubes and getting the best tone?

3. Would I be better off getting something like the Fender Vintage '65 Reissue Deluxe Reverb since it's only one 12" speaker and 22 watts. If I understand correctly it seems like I should be able to get better tone out of this since I could actually turn it up past one... not to mention it seems to be the consensus opinion that the RI Deluxe Reverb is a far superior amp tonally. Am I way off here?