I have a epiphone goth sg and a Marshall mg30dfx and my sound is horrible since im fairly new to this can ou guys point me in the right direction new guitar with better pups or a new amp, thanks.
You see, in the final analysis,
it is between you and God;
It was never between you and them anyway.
the amp is the major issue regarding tone, look into getting a small tube combo
Quote by Fred1000000
Retards are God's way of telling you you could be worse off, AND entertaining you at the same time!
Is the guitar really that bad? Have you experimented with amp settings? Have you experimented with the dials and pickups on your guitar?

Well you might like a modeling amp like the Roland Cube or the Peavey Vypyr or Roland MicroCube. It would give the a variety of tones from your guitar and they are known for being good amps.

I actually haven't played an Epiphone Goth SG so I cant say how good or bad it is but if your tone is as bad as you say it is you might want to change the amp before your guitar...
Amp!

Epiphone Les Paul Standard w/ SD Alnico Pro II's
Fender Aerodyne Telecaster & Stratocaster
Marshall JCM 800 4104 combo

E-Married to Funny_Page
I went to the store and tried the line 6 spider i know no one likes them but it actually sounded good and i could change to like my favorite bands settings should i get it?
The marshall mg series is horrible so I would reccomend getting a better amp first.

EDIT: The Spider may seem like a good option right now, but as your playing advances you'll probably want to develop your own sound, rather than using bad imitations of other guitarists' tones. i would suggest getting a small tube amp, or a better modelling amp like the peavey vyper.
I'm here to help

Quote by Jimbleton
ok, as usual pit is being very unhelpful except andychalmers, so im gonna go post this someplace else

And a master of storytelling...

Quote by Jackolas
andychalmers102, that story is awesome.
Last edited by andychalmers102 at Feb 23, 2009,