hey guys, i've been lurking around here for about 2 months now but this is my first post

i guess a brief introduction about myself... i just started playing guitar about 2 months ago. although i just started playing guitar, my music background is decent.

my dad wanted me to become a professional violin player when i was younger (must be an asian thing.. ), and got me a coach when i was 3 yrs old that i worked with 5 hours a week. i use to play alot of competitions when i was younger but i honestly hated the violin and only played it because my parents forced me to.

when i got to high school, i would travel to alot of places and play in different competitions and youth symphonies. i met alot of people and i realized that even though i had the technique when playing, i lacked passion for the instrument which made my sound lack feeling and made it sound bland. i decided when i was 19 that i did not want to play the violin anymore and quit for good. at this time i moved out of the house and went to college so there was really nothing my parents could do to stop me.

when i went to college, i quit playing music all together. i was very angry at my parents for a long time for forcing me to play and i felt like they robbed my childhood away from me. when i was younger, i could never go out to play or do anything that normal kids did because i was forced to practice 4-6 hours a day.

i recently graduated college and i'm working as a tech while preparing to go to vet school next year. that leads to present day... around november of last year i became really depressed and i couldn't figure out why. i just felt like something was missing in my life. i kept trying to figure out what it was and i just couldn't...and it drove me deeper into depression. i felt that my professional life was great but my personal life was miserable...something was missing.