First a little background. I'm a second semester freshman at a state university majoring in sound recording technology. I'm having a blast, I've met some of my best friends here and it's all been a real "experience" but at the same time, the whole time I've been here, I feel like college is just the next leg up from high school in the system to **** you over.

They **** you over financially, because I don't use half the programs I have to pay for included in my tuition bill, and will NEVER use half the classes I have to take in order to graduate by the time I'm done here.

They **** you over educationally. I still feel like I'm in high school in that I do a lot less work than my peers and succeed more easily, and yet there's no way for me to test out of certain classes or w/e. I feel like if I really wanted to, I could have taught myself all I needed to know about sound engineering by this point, and been interning, but that's not how it works.

So essentially every day deep down I feel depressed that I'm wasting thousands of dollars and infinite amounts of time just so that in 4 years I'll get a piece of paper that might get me a job. Or I might need a better piece of paper after that to even get a decent paying job in today's economy.

I just wish there was another way. I feel trapped. I feel like if I'm not in college I'd just automatically be labeled unsuccessful by family friends and myself, and yet I feel unsuccessful here.

Maybe someone who can relate to my situation or has some advice could post it here? Thanks.
maybe you should have gone to a tech school rather than a state school? thats what im doing this coming fall, and ill be paying a substantially LESSER amount for basically the same major than i would at the big-time university here.
Tampa Bay Buccaneers

South Carolina Gamecocks

Quote by SGstriker
Chef Strato-Massacre: Cooking shitstorms since that comment.

Quote by PurpleClawz
Damnit why are you full of so much win