Hi everyone. I am here to talk about what I have been experiencing the past few days. I am a University student (2nd year) and studying a degree that includes a placement year (3rd year). Round about October time the year in industry students were gathered up and we were given a presentation about a placement based abroad that was available. The presentation was presented by the head of biology as he is in charge of the placement.

So days later I wrote my CV and cover later and hand them into my tutor. Around december my tutor calls me to see him. Basically what he said was that my application was rejected because A. My first year grades were not high enough and B. The number of places avaliable was capped to 6 places I think. (something I was not told about in the lecture).

I know that out of the six people, four of them are year in industry students and two are just normal 3 year students. During my A levels I did my best to try to get on the year in industry course, which I did. This is the kind of placement that I wanted to be on. Whats annoying me is that two of the students that applied arent even year in industry students yet they still were given a place.

What I did was I contacted the head of biology by email and said hay look, I know my grades were not very good but please re consider after my January exam results are out. He says he will think about it if I get a 2.1 average.

My first year results gave me an average of about 54%. So on the Friday just gone I recieved my results and was quite surprised that I only managed to achieve 57% average. I am actually quite annoyed at this result as I put alot of effort in.

This placement means alot to me and is the only placement I really want to be on. This is the kind of placement I wanted to be on when I applied for the sandwich course. I dont know exactly what criteria the head used to pick the 6 students but my tutor tells me it was based on first year grades.