So im looking at getting a new strat and its either between a normal standard one or the american standard. The american is about double the price so im just wondering what makes it better. Im going to be changing the pickups and controls so is there any worth in getting the american? does it feel/play better?
Well the regular one is made in Mexico, here we refer to them as MIMs.
I'm no Fender Expert but I believe the American has nicer electronics and wood.
Lets jump in a pool

Last edited by I am wet : Today at 03:26 XM.
It is better quality in every aspect.
Gear
American Deluxe Stratocaster
Deluxe Reverb Reissue
It's crafted from higher quality wood, I BELIEVE, and yeah, the hardware and electronics are just better.

Also, there's a nice lacquer on the fretboard, and the hand-rolled fingerboard edges.

Something about the MIA's just felt better in comparison to MIM's. However, the MIM line of instruments are fantastic for the price. Personally, I think my MIA Standard Strat plays much nicer than any MIM I've tried.

There's also the MIJ (Japan) and MIK (Korea) line. But I think those are harder to come by. Never played one, but apparently a number of them are on par with or even surpass the MIA line.
Personally, I've had my MIM rewired professionally with boutique-grade pots and wire, and to be honest, after wiring, a more stable bridge, a 22nd fret and a location of origin being a few miles farther north, I find no differences.
THE FORUM UPDATE KILLED THE GRADIENT STAR

Baltimore Orioles: 2014 AL Eastern Division Champions, 2017: 73-78
Baltimore Ravens: 2012 World Champions, 2017: 2-0
2017 NFL Pick 'Em: 24-7
American is better built than the Mexican ones.

Better sound quality too.
With The Price increase of the Fender Strats, about 600 for a Sunburst strat, is that worth 600 dollars?? IS it better than buying an Epiphone?? I wanna play a mix of rock and Eric Clapton stuff..
Quote by freshflip1322