OK, I've been playing for about 4-5 months, got the bug good so I'm sure I will be sticking with it for awhile, so I'm upgrading equipment. I've already upgraded to a Gibson LP Studio which I love, but I'm struggling with the amp upgrade.

I started off with a Peavey Vypyr Tube 60. Nice sound, loved all the available effects, but after a week I got sick of having to turn the power switch off and on for 5 minutes until it decided it wanted to start (and yes I did the firmware update).

I returned the Vypyr and I intended to get a Vox VT30, since I've read good things about them, and when I initially tested amps the Vox and the Vypyr were my 2 top choices. But after playing around and still liking the idea of a tube amp, I talked myself into getting a Valveking 112 instead.

Now I'm thinking this might have been a mistake. This is mainly a practice amp - I can't see myself gigging anytime soon - and this amp is way powerful and to top it off, doesn't have a headphone jack for practicing at night (after my kids go to bed). I think I might have overreached with the VK. I kind of miss having the effects too, although that's not a deal killer, and I know I can always add a multi-fx pedal later.

So I'm trying to figure out the best way to go - keep the Valveking and just figure out a solution for practicing at night, or return it and get something like the VT30 which seems like it might be more suitable for this point in my non-career.

Any suggestions?

BTW - I'm still learning, but I mostly play classic rock, punk, grunge, so I don't need insane distortion, just a nice chunky/gritty sound. Cleans are also important to me, since I play a lot of acoustic-type stuff.
vt is a good practice amp. or try some of vox's amps that are fractional wattage tube amps. i forget the name atm.
My band's one cover is in my profile!

Rig:

Charvel San Dimas Style 2 Pagan Gold
Traynor YCS50
Visual Sound H2O
Morley Bad Horsie
Ibanez TS9
ISP Decimator
EHX Metal Muff