So I've just started taking in theory, and I'm just barely understanding it. I feel as if I understand the creation of chords using a scale, for example, and I have a sample of one I made.

E a d g b e
X 0 2 4 3 5

Is that a certifiable chord? It sounds ok to me, and works well when added to the end of the scale. Also, what would you name that chord?

Thanks, I know it's an irrelevant question but I'm a theory noob .
Quote by Trowzaa
I wish I was American.

~ A Rolling Potato Gathers No Moss ~
Quote by bangoodcharlote
That is Asus2sus4.

Check out the lesson in my sig.

Asus2sus4.. that's actually simpler than I thought it'd be. I guess now it looks more like an A to me since it's been mentioned, though. And I'll give that a look, thanks.
Quote by Trowzaa
I wish I was American.

I don't know. I'm fine with sus2sus4, but it does make sense to say that you suspend the third to a fourth and add a ninth. However, it could also be Asus2add11, so I'm going with sus2sus4 until someone corrects me.
Quote by eGraham
So I've just started taking in theory, and I'm just barely understanding it. I feel as if I understand the creation of chords using a scale, for example, and I have a sample of one I made.

E a d g b e
X 0 2 4 3 5

Is that a certifiable chord? It sounds ok to me, and works well when added to the end of the scale. Also, what would you name that chord?

Thanks, I know it's an irrelevant question but I'm a theory noob .

out of curiosity, what was your process for deriving this chord out of a scale? and which scale did you use? is this just a random chord, or is it part of a progression. Context is important in answering questions like this.
Oh, great. Context always makes me look foolish lol.

I derived it from the simple Chinese-esque tune played on the high e string:

12-12-12-12-10-10-7-7 etc. etc.

I used it primarily to test and see if I was able to make a chord, if I remember correctly the notes I extracted were E, A, B and C (or G).