Well I just started playing bass and I need an amp. It will mostly be used for practice by my self, but occasionally it will be used for jamming with 1 or 2 guitars and drums (loud drums) so what wattage do I need? I probably wont be gigging any time soon so I shouldnt need TOO much. I'll be willing to spend around $250 or so and I am trying to look on craigslist. There is a peavey 300 combo for only $95 that I want but it is too big (physically) and its a little out of the way.

Anyways, I am pretty tight on space so are there any amps that are loud enough for jamming/band setting and are pretty compact?
Too big as in takes up too much room. I was looking at the highwatt 30w amp its 30w but it is pretty compact and only $130 :/ Would that be enough wattage?
Alright I think I am going to drive down (100 miles) to the nearest guitar center (so I dont have to ship it so my dad wont know that I bought one) What should I get?

Acoustic b100? anything thats decent but cheaper and loud enough? 100w seems like it might be a little more than Ill really need
A 100 watts, will do, but it will be cutting it. No tones that sound good, it will be boosting the mids. The Peavey would probably be better.
Yamaha TRB1006
Fender MIA jazz bass
Hora Hybrid double bass
Hartke lh 500
Ev 606L
Epiphone les paul
Why are bass watts so much lower than guitar watts (well why do they mean so much less)
With the lower frequencies of bass, you just need more power to cut through.
also, if you have a loud drummer, you are going to need at LEAST 200 watt to barely cut it.
GEAR:

Ibanez GSR205FM

Trace Elliot GP7SM 200watt bass combo
so my local store has some small hartke's (30 and 60w) and some ibanez (sw35)

Hartke seems like the best deal. 30w for about 170. The ibanez is $200. I guess Ill check them out. All of the reviews say that they are perfectly fine for drums and even small gigs. Even the 15w hartke.
Quote by bboyjon