Hey, im still new to bass and on the advice of my teacher i need to look into different styles of music and their basslines. He suggested latin and reggae so i can hear different styles of basslines and the way they fit into the music. Are there any bands you guys can suggest from the above genres that are good/interesting also bands from any other genres have interesting basslines or different styles would be welcome. Cheers!
there's alot from pink floyd

money is one of the best known basslines
Gear:
Fender MIA Strat w/EMG SA's
Fender Super 60
Boss RT-20 Rotary Sim
Ibanez AD-9 Analog Delay
EHX Big Muff

"Doctor Kindly Tell Your Wife
That I'm Alive, Flowers Thrive
Realise, Realise, Realise"
Stir it up - Bob Marley and the Wailers
Quote by guitarhero_764
I think you need to stop caring what people think about it. I stayed home all day today and masturbated like 5 times. Fucking blast.

Ibanez ATK300 ◈ Sansamp VT Bass ◈ EHX Nano Small Stone ◈ Hartke LH500 ◈ Ashdown/Celestion 115
Most ska songs have good bass lines. Check out Streetlight Manifesto if you want some challenging lines.
Call me Jack.
All that you love...
...you must love now.
My Gear:
PRS Custom 24
Standard MIM Tele
Larrivée LV-09E
Rivera Clubster 45 112 Combo Tube
Boss ME-20 Multi-effects pedal
Boss OC-3 Super octave pedal
My own home-made octave-up pedal
Was listening to the gorillaz earlier, the got some nice lines.
Quote by Shinobi1791

Damn you Sludge Metal community! We want Trent Reznor back.
Cannibal Corpse - Hammer Smashed Face
seriously, the bass before the first verse is just insane
Bedouin Soundclash and State Radio is modern reggae with cool bass.

+1 on Streetlight too.
If music was the food of love I'd be a fat romantic slob.
Jaco Pastorius. He's jazz.
Quote by Mr_Jubby_Jubs
Bedouin Soundclash and State Radio is modern reggae with cool bass.

+1 on Streetlight too.

+1. I haven't heard of Bedouin Soundclash but State Radio and Streetlight are excellent.