I'm taking music theory in my highschool, and I spend hours playing guitar but I don't know where to look or what to look for about this kind of topic.

I read the sticky about modes, I started learning about them "intervals and such" and how they sound. I'm currently spending most of my time on Lydian. I know Dorian is Major and Aolian is Minor. I know they're all equally important I'm just making sure I'm learning accurate information before I jump in.

Anyway, I have no idea where to start a Mode, or any scale for that matter. Let's say the key is A Major, it's Minor key is f# minor because of the same number of #'s that I understand. But I'm not sure if I should start a dorian scale on the A note (probably not) or a whole step above the A. I'm sure there's no rule saying that I can NEVER start on A, but I'm just wondering how to figure out what's accurate. Is there a way to link certain modes?

I've seem to get Lydian and Dorian to blend but I'm not sure what's going on. Any help would be appreciated, thanks!
Well for one Dorian is minor mode due to the flat 3rd.

If you're playing the Dorian mode in A than you'll want to start on a B note considering Dorian is the second mode in A.
If you look at it in a non musical point of view, the five patterns basically are the seven modes (Lydian and Locrian shifting root notes on same patterns) that all fit like a puzzle. That's why Ionian and Aeolian are Major and Minor, Dorian and Phrygian are Minor, Lydian and Mixolydian are Major (Locrian is the odd man out.) All because of where the "new" root note is, that is what makes Modes, it is "shifting" the root note. Try looking for the Major patterns all across the neck, then you'll see what I'm talking about.
No means maybe
Quote by pilgrimevan