I KNOW THIS THREAD HAS BEEN DONE A MILLION TIMES AND I ALREADY USED THE SEARCH BAR!

but... i still have questions

for those of you who study music in college-

i'm a sophomore in high school, I love music, I want to study it for as long as I can, and I'm somewhat ahead of the game in terms of understanding theory

I'm currently in an AP Theory class at school, but I really only dabble on instruments other than the guitar so I can't read sheet music for ****s. I can analyze music and stuff, but I'm very very far from playing a sheet of music right off of it. Do I need to step it up to pursue music in college? Is there space for a guy who can't read sheet music fluently?

Thanks for all who help
There was a woman who gave out her pearls.
how are you in AP music theory if you can't even read sheet music? That's usually a prerequisite.
I'm also a sophomore in HS. And all I can say is reading sheet music is essential. Just buckle down and do it. I have the same problem; that I can't read sheet music very well. I just applied to a conservatory, and the placement exam was covered in sheet music.

Just do it dude, learn how to read sheet music. You will **** your pants once you realize how seriously essential it is. I hate to say it, but it needs to be done. I'm doing my best to learn before I go to this conservatory too. It's hard, but worth it.
Ya I studied music in school and lets put it this way, you can know all the theory you want but it wont help if you cant read music. Becauses i had to write out scores such as Passacalia's, Etude, Counterpoint exercises and other **** like that.
Fender Standard Stratocaster w/ Hot Noiseless Pickups
G&L Asat Special Semi Hollow
Alvarez Artist AD80SSB Acoustic
Peavey Valve King 112
Roland Micro Cube
Nobel ODR-1 Pedal
Boss CS-3
Boss DD-6
Boss CH-2
Boss FZ-1
Dunlop 535Q Wah
do i need to read it on the piano?

or should i learn it on the guitar as the main deal
There was a woman who gave out her pearls.