I've been playing acoustics for only about a year now. I am more of a self-teach music person. I am not in a position to hire a teacher or take any guitar lessons yet. My assumption is that when playing any instrument in music, one of the number one rules are, to learn correctly the right way first and prevent any bad habits from occuring. In addition, I believe there are more than one way to learn and play an instrument.

My current self taught program is this: I spend roughly 2 hours a day playing the acoustic. My excercises includes, scales/strumming/finger picking. My goal is to achieve this level of guitar playing Sungha Jung with in a year

After watching this video from youtube, showing a small child playing an acoustic, I've summed up a few questions, if the community can help me.

1. At his age, how is or was he able to achieve such playing techniques.

2. Assuming he had a teacher, would the teacher teach music theory? (Major/Scales etc.)

3. With the right training, are there shortcuts in learning to play a guitar?

4. Are there any resources online/books out there that can help me acheive my goal?

I feel like quiting after seeing that video, wish I should of started earlier, I'm 24 yrs old . My level of skill is no where near him, I would look terrible if I attempted.

Any help is appreciated.
Last edited by vang0341 at Feb 26, 2009,
get a teacher, play the music you like, practise, and enjoy every second.
Quote by mh.666
This man is right.

My life in all aspects is going fucking brilliantly, so I just thought I'd offer a cyncial scrap of wisdom, gloat a little, and then leave.
if you want to get good quickly get lessons
incubus rocks my world