Lately Ive been writing down what Im thinking. Its complete and total gibberish I think. I understand it, but it has no structure, no nothing. Here is what I wrote yesterday.

Today a blow was dealt
in a fight for myself
for a man came by today
and pulled my trophy from a shelf

one big step
ego stricken on a wednesday night
fell two feet
never even bothered to put up a fight
to his knees
Im not retiring yet

Funny how it comes
in such a strange way
how its strange when you
finally get shot in the fray

Just looking back at it, I dont know. Is this even worthy of putting to music? Is this just rubbish? Maybe Im to critical of myself
cant give u any advice cuz im not even into lyrics, i dont pay attention, and im not good with words, but i like this. this is good:P
knocksvil wrote:

Ted Jensen said "I'm not proud to be associated with this one.".. nice one Ted.. now go and jump in the fire
pick a key, make up a chord progression, strum, sing
repeat the last two until something works
as for whether or not it's worthy that's not even a question
you decide if it's worthy
I want Super Saiyan abilities
Ill try that tonight. I for some reason always make an excuse that "I need a good acoustic to really be able to sit down and write something" or "I need to know more technical stuff before I get to writing" I just need to sit down and do this. So I should just sit down, find a progression, add other parts etc? I just say, G! and then write something off of that?
you could try that. you just have to find your own personal system
try things, experiment
i just jam out a little on the guitar at first to get the creative juices flowing
I want Super Saiyan abilities
I was in your position for ages. My advice is, write entirely on the spot, then change little details and turn into a song later on.

EDIT: And don't be afraid not rhyme - rhyming kills creativity.