I've been playing for like 6 months and I think its about time I upgrade my really ****ty guitar and get a gig amp (as of right now I have a Roland 15x Cube, which is a good practice amp but def. won't work for gigs). I've been doing some research and I really have no idea where to begin. I looked into some Schecters and the Hellraiser V-1 looked really nice but then I talked to a friend who said that due to the EMG 81/89 active pickups it is strictly a metal guitar, and I'm at the point where although I want to play more metal my skill level isn't good enough to go out and start shredding. I really just need a good solid guitar and amp that will last me for a decent amount of time and on which I could play both Aerosmith and Pantera without sounding like crap, for ideally around 1500$ or so. Thanks in advance
Hagstrom makes some pretty good versatile guitars. I like the UltraLux XL2 or XL5, but that's personal preference.
When life gives you lemons, squirt juice in your enemies' eyes.
Get a Peavy 6505 amp if you want a good gig amp, they cost around $1500 and are great for metal
for a guitar a Schecter is perfect, they make solid guitars, Im buying a 7 string Hellraiser once I get the money
I play Lacrosse, you should too
Quote by reeses
heed this man's suggestion, for he is wise.

Aww shucks...

Quote by Tom 1.0
Oh and wait for the Schecter fan boys, if you listen real hard you can already hear them coming.
For Guitar, Charvel San Dimas or So-Cal thats exactly what ur looking for.
It can handle any genre and is only 1000 (Seymour Duncans, OFR, Maple Neck etc)
Gear:
Guitars/ Basses:
PRS SE singlecut w/Tremolo
Epiphone Sg
Epiphone Thunderbird

Waiting in the wings:
Squier Strat mod
(soon to start)

Amps:
Line 6 Spider JAM
Peavey Max 115 bass amp