Hey everybody, I need to know, I have been playing guitar for 7 years. I have focused on style and mainly the technical points of playing guitar. I have done some songwriting and learned alot of tunes. I am now interested in taking my playing to the next level. I really want to learn theory. Not necessarly reading sheet music but really understanding key, and really knowing how to write music properly and understand what sounds good and what doesnt. In short, I WANT TO LEARN THEORY, Where should I start? Any books or resources that you would recommend?
Half the lessons on UG.....

Please add me if as a friend I helped! (I like to think I'm a friendly person)
Quote by Invokke_Havokk
Half the lessons on UG.....

Right, but often I find them a little too fast paced for me. They sometimes jump right into it and I might need a slower approach to some of this.
The Crusade articles on the columns section of the site will help you immensely.

And besides, Theory is not something you can pick up in a day. You need time, patience, and apply theory to music to understand it.
If you play guitar, please don't waste your time in The Pit, and please instead educate yourself in the Musician Talk forum, where you can be missing out on valuable info.
Quote by DiminishedFifth
It's like you read my mind!

I got meself a self-approving sig. Kick. Ass.
You don't need to learn to read music to learn theory, but your life will be much easier if you do.
Trying to learn music theory without learning to read sheet music is like learning how to write without learning how to spell. Seriously. Pick up a theory textbook, there are tons of them out there. Start with the basics like spelling simple chords and scales and just work your way up.
The crusade articles are a great way to start.
Quote by Zaphod_Beeblebr
Theory is descriptive, not prescriptive.

Quote by MiKe Hendryckz
theory states 1+1=2 sometimes in music 1+1=3.