Hello! Total newb to the forum. Been playing guitar for around 9 years. I am interested in all styles of guitar from John Fahey to Scotty Ian. My current axe is an ESP M-50 with a SD Invader in the bridge. I recently acquired an amazing half stack consisting of a Laney OR50 and a Marshall JCM900 Lead 1960 Straight cab -- all for only $610! I feel like I've gotten away with robbery. Anyway, I've found an interesting use for the often criticized Boss Metal Zone pedal. I run it through the effects loop, with the Line level at noon and the distortion turned all the way back to zero. None at all. I boost the highs and lows and lower the mids only slightly. I then turn the preamp volume on the Laney's gain channel to about 7 and I get a really modern Satanic sounding tone.

Doing this allows me to completely control the gain with the amps preamp volume knob. My question is, am I just amplifying the Boss's Solid State distortion, or am I getting a true mix of British tube and solid state?
Last edited by bravocharlie at Mar 2, 2009,
You are mixing the Laney distortion with the Laney distortion going through the Metalzone. If it sounds good, then keep using it.

╠═══════╬═══════╣

THE SINE WAVE SURFER σƒ τλε τρπ βπστλεπλσσδ

╠═══════╬═══════╣

[quote="'[BurnTheDusk"]']Boss pedals may be built like tanks but I would rather buy a cardboard box that is on my side than pay for a tank that is working against me.
Quote by bravocharlie