Now, I'm a semi-theory noob. I am just venturing into the world of actually learning what I do, and attempting to go beyond pentatonic solos.

I love the sound of George Benson type players, and even in theme tunes that have a jazz feel (Frasier...), the little jazz licks. I don't expect to people able to jam with Miles Davis overnight, but are there any shortcuts to just achieve that sound?
no

Simple reason, they sound what they sound like because what they play. Taking notes out will sound less then them.

IT depends how much you want to emulate them.

Ofcourse you don't need 10 years practice to get a slight jazz inflection on ur playing, but you sure as hell need to understand voice leading, chord tones, and common/stylistic jazz chord alterations.

This is not really difficult. The difficulty lies in improvising with those, but writing isn't.

www.jazzguitar.be has helped me with alot of jazz stylistic ideas, you should check it out.

The "Re-incarnation of Plato" Award 2009
(most intelligent)
The "Good Samaritan" Award 2009 (most helpful)

[font="Palatino Linotype
Who's Andy Timmons??
Last edited by xxdarrenxx at Mar 2, 2009,
well i think the way to go is to learn some common jazz phrases. that can get you a decent jazz infunced sound. you wont sound like a jazz guitarist by any means though.
use your vibrato a bit more, use blues scales for your soloing and practice the riffs *shrugs*
... wrote
the funny thing about those ads is, if i could steal a car at the comfort of my own computer in my own house, i would.

Quote by MyDesertRose
Ahahaha TS just got gobsmacked.
Well played Wicked Rose
minor pentatonic but adding major notes for example in the key of a on the b string play 5 and 7 as well as the 8
or on the g string and the note in between the usuall minor pentatonic notes

to me its how you play them thats a little more impotant than what you play
Moustaches are far superior for jazz.