Hey UG,
I just recently got in a band as a bassist (I'm a guitarist, just kinda fell into it.) I ****ing love groups like Mastodon/Dreamtheatre/Opeth and I wanted to provide my band with a good prog. metal bass riffs to go ape-**** on.

So I guess my question is this: is there anything specific I should practice to make me more adept at carrying odd time signatures or add dimension and complexity to our already heavy sound?

FYI this is what I'm doing now:
-experimenting with dropped tuning (whole step d/g/c/f or dropped A depending on the sound)
-Metronome practice (speed, obviously)
-Studying Troy Sanders like crazy
"You can drink an ugly chick hot, but you can’t drink a fat chick skinny."

Fender: HSS Stratocaster

Modulus: 1991 Q5

Peavey:158BASS
Marshall: MG30FDX
Acoustic: B200
Last edited by gizmodious at Mar 2, 2009,
Learn when to provide a simple backing and when to do bitchin' fills.
Quote by dudetheman
So what? I wasted like 5 minutes watching DaddyTwoFoot's avatar.

Metalheads are the worst thing that ever happened to metal.
One thing I like to do for a somewhat proggy sound is playing a fifth below the guitarist on heavy riffs, like the heavy riff in Dream Theater's Pull Me Under, I love playing that in my band, on bass I play a fourth below the guitar's chords in that, except for the open strings, I play either in unison with those, or a fifth or octave fill.

BTW, when I said a fifth below, if my guitarist was playing a C power chord, I'd play the G note on the low E, so maybe my term there is incorrect.
Quote by MadAudioMan
One thing I like to do for a somewhat proggy sound is playing a fifth below the guitarist on heavy riffs, like the heavy riff in Dream Theater's Pull Me Under, I love playing that in my band, on bass I play a fourth below the guitar's chords in that, except for the open strings, I play either in unison with those, or a fifth or octave fill.