Well, I've been playing for 5 years and I've always wondered why I couldn't break the 100BPM mark cleanly. I'm able to do it, but only on good days.

Anyways, I got to thinking; "Maybe I spread out my practice routine too much."

Here's my basic day. After school, of course.

4:00 - Get Home and visit UG for a while, so I can rest a bit.
4:30ish - Guitar (I play standing up a lot, so I get tired very easily)
5:00 - Hang out w/ friends
6:00 - Eat
6:30 - Guitar
7:30 - TV (My favorite show is on for an hour )
8:30 - Guitar
9:30 - CPU (Take some time to unwind a bit)
10:30 - David Letterman
11:30 - Bed

Is my practice too spread out? Should I keep my practice time all in one spot so that I can focus on that for a while.
Last edited by The.new.guy at Mar 2, 2009,
Nope, doesn't look like its too spread out. Good for rest. What do you practice?
If you play guitar, please don't waste your time in The Pit, and please instead educate yourself in the Musician Talk forum, where you can be missing out on valuable info.
Quote by DiminishedFifth
It's like you read my mind!

I got meself a self-approving sig. Kick. Ass.
Quote by SilverDark
Nope, doesn't look like its too spread out. Good for rest. What do you practice?

I mostly practice alternate picking. I want to get it down good before moving on to something like sweeping.
Use metronome.

Find a scale you enjoy ( I enjoy Phyrgian in F minor )

Play scale to metronome, starting at 60bpm. (or the highest you can play cleanly and comfortably)

Hit 4 notes per beat.

Increase bpm by 2 when you can play it cleanly and comfortably.

Work way up to desired level.

I'm at 120 on good days, after a quick warmup (I start at 100~)

Please add me if as a friend I helped! (I like to think I'm a friendly person)
How about ignoring speed and just play some music? I recently found out my speed increased from 110 to 130bpm (on 16th notes), and all I did was not pay attention to speed, just playing melodies.